Are there such things as job descriptions or terms of reference in a sociocracy?

I am just learning about sociocratic organisations, but can’t really get my head around what the best practices are around job descriptions and salaries. In our current organisation, we post a job description that includes capabilities and responsibilities, and the employee signs a contract based on that document and the salary is aligned. The job description is periodically reviewed and revised, but more or less the employee has a role, and the salary is commenserate with that role and the responsibilities contained within. But it seems like in a sociocracy employees would be consenting to all sorts of different responsibilities and the lines between different people’s work could quickly become blurred and/or nullify the justification for paying people for different types of work… so someone paid more to take on more responsibility could consent to less and someone paid to take on less responsibility could take on more… to maintain fairness, the effective job description, and therefore the rationale for salary would be shifting all the time. Could someone explain how to deal with this (without paying everyone the same, which is nice but would be ineffective in our business)?

Yeah it’s complicated. Here’s some to read - let me know if you still have questions after. (Which is likely.)

Thanks @TedRau - that is an interesting article. For us, role-based salary would be very difficult to manage and a lot of work would have to go into the value of each role, wich could be small and only comprise a day’s work for example. I would also think that it would motivate people, qualified or not, to clamour for the higher-priced roles and breed more discontent if they don’t get that role since there is money on the line, as the article suggests.